Matthew Davidson's Reviews

Matthew Davidson
   Here's what others have to say about Matthew and The Matthew Davidson Band:

"The next generation of stars in Louisiana...Matthew Davidson...14-years-old from Shreveport, Louisiana. He is going to be something special. He is right now, and he's going to be in the future. You know, you look at Matthew and you think about Hunter Hayes, who Louisiana watched grow up over the years (3 Grammy nominations for Hunter this year) so, the future of Louisiana music is in good hands".
~ Louisiana Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne, on Louisiana Public Broadcasting television program, Dec. 2012

“Matthew Davidson is blessed with a God-given, born-in-the-bone, talent. His musicianship is far beyond his age. When I play with Matthew, it’s like playing with a musician with many years of experience. Always a perfect gentleman, Matthew’s personality shines through in every performance. He obviously loves what he is doing!”      ~Joe Osborn, famed “Wrecking Crew” bassist who played on numerous hit records of the 60’s – 70’s with Glen Campbell, The Carpenters, The 5thDimension, Simon and Garfunkel,  America, and many more

"Shreveport musician Matthew Davidson recently broke out on the music scene, earning a well-deserved reputation as a guitarist to watch. Of course, we've been watching Davidson for a couple years now." ~Justin Massoud, K94.5, March 2014

"Having been in the recording business for so many years and with so many great artists, I can honestly say that this young man, Matthew Davidson, has all the makings of a Superstar artist. It'll be a pleasure to watch him become that Superstar." 
 ~Hal Blaine, legendary “Wrecking Crew” drummer and member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame who played on numerous hit records of the 60’s – 70’s 

"I covered the music scene in Shreveport from 1976 to 1991 and encountered a wide range of talented players. Matthew could easily hold his own with any of them. Talent like his is a divine gift, and I hope he takes his potential to the limit - and beyond." ~ John Andrew Prime, writer for The Shreveport Times, 2013

"We were impressed  with the band's performance, poise, and stage presence. And of course, Matthew's proficiency on the guitar! We'll be hearing more from him, I'm sure. All very nice guys, too, and we enjoyed working with them."
~Stephen Lundgren, Stage Manager, 2013 Louisiana Seafood Festival
            
"Matthew just puts on a fantastic show and is a great showman for his age. He’s so professional and experienced and he’s played in so many big arenas already in his young career. He’s super polished and polite and a good entertainer. He’s a good kid.”
~Nancy Canson, Co-Director of Boogie Woogie Program in Marshall, TX, “Marshall News-Messenger”, Sept. 14 2013


"Thank you for making Party for the Planet at The Alexandria Zoo a great success! Have heard nothing but compliments and excitement! You guys rock! Hope you'll be back this way again." ~ Amy Katz, Friends of The Alexandria Zoo

"We’re excited to bring this incredibly gifted, young talent to the RiverMarket. Matthew has been recognized by some heavy-hitter blues musicians across the country, and it’s obvious he’s well on his way to securing an impressive name for himself in the music industry. We’re fortunate to have secured him during the budding of his career." ~ Adrienne LaFrance, Monroe Downtown Rivermarket Manager

"Fourteen year old rising child prodigy, Matthew Davidson, has been making major waves in the music world. Getting his first taste of guitar at the age of three, Matthew has been stunning the ears of multiple guitar enthusiasts and organizations across the country."  William Clark, Guitar International, Jan. 2013

"In Shreveport, fourteen-year-old blues-guitar whiz Matthew Davidson cut tracks with longtime Wrecking Crew vet and former Nashville session bassist Joe Osborn."
~ Alex Rawls, Oxford American Magazine, Dec., 2012


"Matthew's got "it". I'm sure he's going to make a lot of people happy with his fine music. He's already an accomplished and powerful performer and bandleader, and I've watched him tear up an audience many times."
 ~ Bob Margolin, legendary blues guitarist who played in Muddy Waters' band

"Beware Bieber! There is a new tween heartthrob in town, if only for a night. Matthew Davidson of Shreveport is already an accomplished musician at 14 years old."
~ Amanda Franko-Tobin, The Natchitoches Times, Nov. 16, 2012

"We're very excited about 14-year-old guitarist/songwriter Matthew Davidson from the Shreveport, LA area. There are not many ninth graders with these kinds of chops--and his appearances in his neck of the woods led legendary Wrecking Crew bassist Joe Osborn (who also lives in the Shreveport area) to sit up and take notice enough to want to perform and promote the adorable young performer. It's nice to see young people not going the "pure pop" route. Did we fail to mention that he's been jamming since the tender age of seven? Now, that's incredible!" ~ Anne M. Raso, The MAC Wire, Dec.12, 2012

"There is no doubt in my mind, after listening to "Step Up", that Matthew Davidson is certainly the real deal, being equally proficient in both Pop/Rock and Blues genres. He is already great in what he does and the sky is the limit regardless of which musical direction he chooses to dominate. "Step Up" is a fantastic intro to a fantastic very talented rising star." ~Blues Underground Network, John Vermilyea, Sept. 2012 

“Along with his incredible talent also comes a kind demeanor, infectious smile and solid drive and determination. Matthew’s focus is clear and although his ambition seems uncharacteristic for his age, his personality, professionalism and sound continue to catapult him to new heights.”  ~SB Magazine, May 2012

“In this issue (May 2012) we profile a young man that has an incredibly bright future in the entertainment business. Matthew Davidson is only 14, but he already has a national reputation as a great guitarist; the thing most likeable about Matthew is his humility. We’re sure this won’t be the last time we’ll be writing about this talented young man.”  ~SB Magazine, May 2012

"With sideswept, light-brown hair and a confident attitude that belies his years, Davidson is a compelling stage presence. The thrill is a long way from gone for the young artist; it probably hasn't even shown up yet. But his precocious, energetic style -- he counts Chuck Berry and ZZ Top among his influences -- is already earning him notice and accolades."
       ~Alison Fensterstock, New Orleans Times-Picayune, May 4, 2012

"Matthew Davidson has been playing guitar for about six years. It looks like 16 when you see him play." ~Kidd Kraddick, host of nationally syndicated radio show "Kidd Kraddick in the Morning". 

"Matthew is so unbelievably awesome. He is going to be such a huge star. He truly is."  ~Kellie Rasberry, radio personality on nationally syndicated radio show "Kidd Kraddick in the Morning".  

"His style was advanced for his age", said Steven Johnson, Robert's grandson and Vice President of the Robert Johnson Blues Foundation. "It was crisp; it was professional. His style with that electric guitar was amazing. I know Matthew will be a great ambassador for the Foundation. (as the winner of the 2011 Robert Johnson New Generation Award)" 

         ~The Shreveport Times, Jan. 5, 2012

"
Congratulations on winning the 2011 Robert Johnson New Generation Award. Your talent as an accomplished guitarist and vocalist has resulted in recognition by a foundation steeped in the greatest traditions of the Delta Blues artists. I look forward to hearing of your continued success as you enlighten the world about the great talent which is home grown in Louisiana."  ~

letter from Mary Landrieu, United States Senator, Jan. 6, 2012


"Kids, parents, grandparents and grandkids will love Matthew. He is amazing on the guitar and it's thrilling to see such talent at such a young age. Plus, he's a terrific kid and puts on a wonderful show."         

 ~Nancy Canson, Birthplace of Boogie Woogie Co-Director, Marshall, TX, April, 2012


 


"We recognize talent when we see it, or in this case, hear it. Matthew is awesome. He has a bright future. Keep up the great music."        ~Legends

: The Mississippi Arts and Entertainment Review, Jan. 2012

  
"Even though the list of blues-related deaths is long for 2011, all across the country kids and young adults are getting into the blues. Matthew Davidson is wowing audiences across the south and he is only in his mid-teens."                     ~American Blues News, Dec. 2011


"Matthew began performing professionally in 2010 and has already achieved an immense amount of recognition, support and admiration."     ~International Musician Magazine, Sept. 2011 

"One of my favorite entertainers was 13-year-old Matthew Davidson. He stole the show (The Louisiana Hayride Celebrates Hank Williams) with his guitar playing (used the slide like Eric Clapton) and brought the house down with his version of " of "Move It On Over" ". ~Elaine Etheridge,KWKH Program Director

"Matthew is exciting to watch perform, and his talent will surprise even veteran guitarists".   ~Stephanie Frazier, KLTV Community Web Producer, Tyler, TX

"Matthew is an awesome young man and a great performer. Thanks for letting us showcase him (at the KTBS 3 Independence Day Festival) because he has an incredible future ahead of him."     ~Jan Elkins, KTBS 3 Community Projects Director

"For the record, Matthew's probably the nicest, most respectful and talented young man I think I've ever met!"     ~ Erin Bristol, K94.5 Program Director

"If Matthew is shredding like this at such a young age, the mind wobbles at the thought of where he will be just five short years from now!  Watch him closely, folks...because he has an incredible future ahead of him."     ~ Jinelle Boyd, My Texas Music Co-Founder

"This young man is....amazing.  If he possesses this kind of talent NOW, we shudder to think how good he will be in just five years!  Do yourself a favor, and look him up on YouTube.  Grab the popcorn and prepare to be astonished."       MyTexasMusic.com newsletter
   

"We last saw Matthew Davidson at this year’s International Blues Challenge. Matthew was participating in the youth showcase, and was blowing the crowds away. The Shreveport, Louisiana native has been popping up at shows, events, and festivals all over the map lately, and has nowhere to go but upwards as he continues his blues musical odyssey."    ~Matt Marshall, reporter for American Blues Scene

"Matthew, it is not just your music that was a hit. Your great smile and making each person with whom you made contact feel welcome and important enhanced the T-Bone experience for them. I had about a dozen people say to me that they had an opportunity to meet you and they thought you were the greatest!"  
~Russ Wright, Executive Director of T-Bone Walker Blues Festival

"Somewhat new to the business and young in age was The Matthew Davidson Band. I'm told that young Matthew is only thirteen years old, but you would never know it as he has been playing guitar since age three. He works that slide guitar like nobody's business and yes, he has aready learned how to "work" a crowd!"  
~Jim King, Photographer and Reporter for Piney Woods Live Magazine

"Spend any time with Davidson  and you'll immediately pick up on the fact that he's friendly, he has a fun sense of humor and he loves his guitar."      ~Amanda Retallack, reporter for Piney Woods Live magazine 

"Thirteen-year-old Matthew Davidson is making quite a name for himself in Texas and Louisiana and beyond with his classic rock and blues guitar playing."      ~Tom Geddie, County Line Magazine

"You all were so wonderful! Thank you for sharing your abundant talent with us here at Stonewall Library! We will never forget you and the great music and fun!"                             ~Cookie Cole, Librarian

"We were so happy to have The Matthew Davidson band perform at the 1st Annual Going Green on the Red River Festival at the Fairgrounds in Coushatta! It is so exciting to witness such a young performer possess such talent. We would love to have you back next year."
  ~Martha Gates, Red River Chamber of Commerce

"The Matthew Davidson Band was great! I was really impressed and so were many others!"  
~Becky Mire, Southern Hills Homeowners Association Treasurer - Music in the Park

"Matthew is a talented guitarist who you will hear more about in the coming years. He is 13-years-old, but has a guitar soul of a 30-year-old. He was featured in this year's International Blues Challenge in the Youth Showcase and wowed the crowd."
        ~Vinny Marini, reporter for American Blues News

"Matthew proves that blues music transcends age, space and time. The passion can burn just as hot in the classrooms of Seventh Grade as in the barrooms of Seventh Avenue."  
         ~Jim Kanavy, reporter for American Blues News

"Thanks so much for being a part of our Mardi Gras Festival. You guys were great. Can't wait to book ya'll for our next event."           ~Elaine Eaton, Minden Mardi Gras Entertainment Coordinator


"We really enjoyed having The Matthew Davidson Band at our Custom Car Show. We had people asking if he was going to be there again on Saturday night. They did a great job and we were really pleased."  
~David and Gail Gunn, Shreveport World of Wheels
   
 

"We thought The Matthew Davidson Band was great...and a perfect fit for our crowd" .                    ~Kelly Goldman, Monster Nation Promoter

"Great job last night---I hope we can book you here for special events"!   ~Norma Dickey, House of Blues Dallas Sales Manager

"Thanks so much, the band was great. I got lots of good feedback from everyone about your group specifically, so I’m sure you’ll be hearing from us again".         ~Nazanin Fatemian, Program Manager, International House of Blues Foundation, Dallas & Houston

"Matthew Davidson blew us away with his music, professionalism, and yes, ma’am’s! Matthew is going to be a very big STAR. Mark my words or I am NOT the Pulpwood Queen!”
       ~Kathy Patrick, owner of “Beauty and the Book” in Jefferson, Texas

"Matthew is our youngest member to date, but don't let his age fool you. He is an extremely talented and dedicated young man with a passion for music and performance".”       ~John Howe, President of American Federation of Music Local 116

"Matthew plays Chuck Berry riffs exactly like young Chuck Berry......I've never heard any of the "young guns" of the past 20 years do that!"           
                                              ~ Bruce Flett, Musician

“Matthew has a phenomenal talent with a promising future. And he has the "total package"...a supportive family, good looks, and stage presence. He can talk to anybody and listen, too. He loves playing and it shows.”
                                           ~ Miki Honeycutt, Vocalist

"Tonight I have seen the future and it’s looking good....a good looking, 12 year old young man named Matthew Davidson played guitar for 2 sets with us (Robin and the Bluebirds) at El Chico."     
                             
 ~ Jerry Beach, Musician     

"Matthew is a 12 year old guitar playing wild man, and we've been lucky enough to have him come and play with us (Robin & The Bluebirds)." 
                                      ~Robin Beach Black, Vocalist


"All I can say is "WOW," if you missed 6th grader Matthew Davidson this morning, (Hospitality House) you only have yourself to blame. This kid was totally awesome!"
                                             ~Dan Garner, Musician

“The Backporch Summer Music Series included a performance from Shreveport's new sensation, Matthew Davidson. The twelve year old musician played to an enthusiastic crowd Saturday night. The mixed demographics of young and young at heart appreciated Matthew's exceptional talent on the guitar. Matthew's love of popular Beatles' tunes was shared with the audience as many people sang along. John Lennon would have loved it! And John Lennon would have loved Matthew Davidson.”
~ Chris Broussard, Founder and Chairman of the Board of Cultural Crossroads of Minden   


"Matthew has such a bright future. He's sooo talented."
                                               ~Seva May, Vocalist

"Matthew is a vibrant musician and loves to perform. He has a genuine passion for music, and shows it in his performances."
                 ~Lisa Daye, Talented Arts Music Teacher

"Matthew Davidson is awesome. His command of his instrument along with an excellent stage presence is unbelievable."
                     ~Mark Goff, owner of 516 Soundstage

"Matthew Davidson! Evidence that Shreveport may be alive and well." 
             ~Robert Trudeau, bass player

"Matthew is AWESOME! We all really enjoyed his performance of such cool classic rock, and HE ROCKS!"
                ~Pam Hairston, owner of The Naked Bean